Skip To Main Content

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

There are no resources to display

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) became law in 1990. The ADA is a civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against individuals with disabilities in all areas of public life, including jobs, schools, transportation, and all public and private places that are open to the general public. The purpose of the law is to make sure that people with disabilities have the same rights and opportunities as everyone else. The ADA gives civil rights protections to individuals with disabilities similar to those provided to individuals on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin, age, and religion. It guarantees equal opportunity for individuals with disabilities in public accommodations, employment, transportation, state and local government services, and telecommunications. The ADA is divided into five titles (or sections) that relate to different areas of public life.

ADA Amendments Act of 2008(ADAA): The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) was amended by the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAA) to clarify the meaning and interpretation of the definition of ""disability"." The ADAA Act was signed on September 25, 2008, and took effect on January 1, 2009. Congress passed the ADAA Act to remedy the effects of several Supreme Court decisions that narrowly interpreted the ADA's definition of "disability". These narrow interpretations resulted in the denial of the ADA's protection for many individuals with impairments that Congress intended to cover under the law, such as cancer, diabetes, and epilepsy. The ADAA Act provides clear direction about what "disability" means under the ADA and how it should be interpreted so that covered individuals seeking the protection of the ADA can establish that they have a disability.


Loretta Brazelton

HR Analyst II-Benefits


Rosa Cendejas

HR Specialist - Benefits